UPSL Masters

League History

The adult amateur soccer was originally formed in 1982 (need to verify year), founded by Patrick Futvoye, and was called the Over-40 Soccer League. Most of the original clubs and players that formed this league played in the Greater Los Angeles Soccer League (GLASL) who resided in the San Fernando Valley and Ventura County and who did not want to play Los Angeles Municipal League for a variety of reasons (distance, lack of age categories, quality of fields, etc.). The GLASL was the dominant amateur soccer league in Los Angeles after World War II. This private soccer league was operated by volunteers up until 2014.

In 2010, Alberto Schroth became an assistant league director in support of Eytan Liebesman the current league director. In the fall of 2013, the over-40 league was separated into two divisions, based on a team's competitiveness and position within the current standings. The formation of the two divisions allowed for the new league format of promotion and relegation, similar to the English Premier League.

At the end of 2014, Alberto Schroth became the league director and formed the Southern California Futbol Association which encompassed the two Over-40 divisions. At that time, the league was composed of 18, over-40 teams, distributed between the two divisions. In 2014, the SCFA changed the competition format and instituted a League Cup tournament during the regular league season, as well as a Summer Cup competition to fill the gap between the end of the league play and its restart in the fall.

The BABAK RAHIMI LEAGUE CUP is a soccer tournament administered by the SCFA and runs in parallel to the normal league play. The format is very similar to the English League FA cup where all the teams in each of the divisions are randomly placed within various groups. The top two finishers of each group advances directly into knock-out rounds. League cup games are normally played on the first Sunday of each month, unless its a holiday weekend. League Cup generally starts the fall and designed to end in May. The League Cup is posthumously dedicated to Babak Rahimi. Barak played in this soccer league for many years for several teams including Bayern FC, Parsians FC, and most recently LA Persepolis.

In the summer of 2015, the Masters Division (Over-48 Division) was added to the SCFA and began play with seven clubs. The founding members of this new Masters Division included: LA Soccer Club, White Harte FC, Liga Deportiva Sudamericana, Sporting FC, Sport Boys, Inti-USA, and Athletico Peruano. In the fall of 2015, the SCFA merged with the Over-30 league to form the Over-35 division.

Previous league directors:

  • 1982 to 2000: Patrick Futvoye
  • 2000 to 2009: Sammy Ghoneim
  • 2009 to 2014: Eytan Libesman
  • 2014 to present: Alberto Schroth